Remember When…….?

I was doing some de-cluttering in our basement this morning and found an old friend.  I am sure my three older sisters will recognize her immediately.  She needs a good scrubbing and perhaps some new duds, but she is still my “Bonnie”.

Image

I can still remember the Christmas many, many years ago that Santa brought a new doll for each of us four girls. They were given names after much deliberation. If I remember correctly there were two blondes and two brunnettes.  I believe the chosen names were, Marilyn, Diane, Linda and Bonnie.

We spent hours playing together or alone with our new friends. They were dressed and undressed many times in the course of each week. Bonnie had a few injuries over the years. She lost the tip of her pinky finger to scissors one day when our brother was a bit upset with me. Of course he denied it profusely.  She also ended up with a broken neck while my sister and I were tossing the ‘girls’ across the bed while duplicating a circus performance of some kind. My Mom used glue and adhesive bandages to make her almost as good as new. She was never quite the same after that…I think she had a complex of some kind.

You may notice that she has that ‘Twilight’ look in her once blue eyes. I’m thinking that perhaps it’s from spending too much time in the dark basement? Isn’t that where vampires spend their days?

When my two girls were small they played with Bonnie as well, always being cautioned about her delicate condition.  Her extensive wardrobe has long since vanished and she is left with only this red robe. I feel like I should devote some time to make her something nice to wear. Maybe a bath would be in order as well. She has travelled with me for over 50 years, I think she deserves no less!

About DohNa

I enjoy curling up with a good book, I write poetry from the heart, I am passionate about gardening, I am an avid golfer and I love riding on the back of my husband's Harley-Davidson.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Reflections & Personal Perspectives and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Remember When…….?

  1. Audie Jean says:

    :-)))) Aww, so cute. Thanks for this trip down memory lane.
    I’ll have to bring out mine for a photo shoot too. 🙂 Was she Diane? Or Marilyn? I’m not sure.

  2. PatsyRich says:

    I loved this. I’m so much younger than my seasoned sisters, but still remember these dolls and the feeling of envy at not being in the group of four. However, when I became of age, I, too, received my own versions and still cherish Susie, Billy and Polly. Thanks for the memory, DohNa.

Leave a Reply

