Fatty Foods for Thought

I’m so pleased that Audie-Jean posted her epistle, as she once called it.  This was during her out-pouring of patience as she tried to help me, a younger sister, understand the whats and the whys of her new dietary lifestyle. I asked a lot of questions, as I didn’t get it at all ‘in the beginning’. When I learned that she had stopped eating vegetables, bread, rice, pasta, potatoes, cereal grains and fruit my response was, “What the heck do you eat?” LOL

When I next learned that she ate fatty meats, butter, ice cream, the fattest yogourt and cheeses PLUS drank cream and consumed bacon and eggs every day………I stopped listening………..for a while. I thought “There is no way I can afford to eat that way,”  and just figured it was a health kick overdone. Well, then I saw her after she’d shed 30 pounds and I wanted to be a part of it……all of it.  I was sold!

I’m 57 years old and like my sisters, DohNa & Audie-Jean, feel that I am in the best health I could ever be for my age. For me it began ALL about the weight loss.  Over my last 10 years the pounds were packing on all over, especially around my belly, no matter how carefully I watched my diet, how many crazes I tried. I was no longer a size 8 and my spare tire could fix more than one flat!

My pediatrician worked with me for months trying to help me get to a place where I was able to control the added pounds. He kept saying I couldn’t be eating any healthier than I was.  Apparently, he was wrong, and so too is the Canada Food Guide which we were all taught like the Golden Rule.

So, I started small, replacing my bran flakes each morning with an egg and 2 strips of bacon. It was easy!  Even at 6 am I was into it. Then I began taking a yogourt and some cheddar cheese for lunch and nothing else until supper when my main meal was either fatty beef, chicken with that lovely crisp skin, fish, farmers sausage or chops. Often I added steamed spinach, asparagus or broccoli and smothered them in butter. I was enjoying feeling full faster and it stayed with me longer. The weight started dropping!

About this time I began reading more research in a book Audie-Jean recommended to us and started to realize the actual health benefits from eating this way. Now I was excited! I stopped taking medication for my thyroid condition only to experience no body changes whatsoever. After 3 months, I had lost a very noticeable 12 pounds in my belly and face, and had to down-size my wardrobe. The second-hand donation box in our neighbourhood benefitted a lot!

I continued to lose and admit that I had some worry about whether it would stop. Assured by AJ, sure enough I reached the goal weight for me; I settled……27 pounds lighter. Donation boxes here I come! My yearly exam with the doc left him speechless and pleased. No change in cholesterol after eggs, cheese, cream etc. every day for 6 months. “Unbelievable,” he said.

I, like DohNa, will not tell you that I never eat the occasional slice of white bread, nor that a baked potato with sour cream and butter isn’t served alongside my steak, but it IS seldom and I do still enjoy every bite. My spouse was a hard sell and doesn’t have the same dedication as I do toward this change, but slowly and surely he is also losing weight.

With a family history of heart disease, he has taken a bold step by taking himself off a very harmful cholesterol-lowering drug with no adverse changes in his blood tests. Woohoo! This is huge and I am positive he will live a longer and healthier life because of it.

My body functions differently eating this way, and I have no more stomach cramps unless I bring it on myself by eating bread or pasta. I feel very much in control of my own health.  I no longer wake up with the typical 50+ aches and pains in the morning, and that is something that I wouldn’t believe if  I hadn’t experienced it first hand.

This is my healthy story. I hope it helps you to make some decisions in your life as well.

Thank you Audie-Jean for caring!

About prichie

I'm married and even though it took me 3 times to find the love of my whole life, I truly value the idea of marriage. With only a few, very few, years left before retirement, I am doing a lot of dreaming and planning about what those years will bring. I'm a happy, confident person who sometimes tests the norm in my daily fashion. I'm pleased with where I am in life and plan on sticking around for many many years!
This entry was posted in Food Related and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fatty Foods for Thought

  1. Audie Jean says:

    I’m so happy that you persevered; it was tough for you at the beginning. It’s wonderful to see how good you look and feel now.

Leave a Reply

