Our Elusive Heron……..

As we sat quietly beside the pond at Our Eden, a magnificent shadow was cast from overhead.  Looking up, we could see the immense wing spread directly above us as our heron swooped down to the water’s edge.  We stared in awe as he settled on the dock perusing the calmness of the water for an unsuspecting fish to come to the surface.  It was at this moment that I realized that I had inadvertently left my camera at the house, which is rare.  As if he knew the persistent ‘shutter-bug’ only a few yards away was without her most valuable possession, he was in no hurry to move on.

We watched him for over 10 minutes. His sleekly feathered body blending into the vegetation and his slender neck stretching skyward resembling a twig or tree branch.  If we hadn’t noticed him fly overhead, it would have been impossible to distinguish his form amongst the long grass and brambles along the bank. What a magnificent creature! We marvelled at the length of his beak, and his long thin legs as he seemingly posed for us, ever watchful for any sudden movement that could be construed as a sign of danger.

The picture that is attached was taken earlier in the summer, without time to focus in on his magnificence the way he deserved. I will prevail, and be sure to have my camera at the ready for his next visit to Our Eden, if we are so blessed.

About DohNa

I enjoy curling up with a good book, I write poetry from the heart, I am passionate about gardening, I am an avid golfer and I love riding on the back of my husband's Harley-Davidson.
This entry was posted in Our Natural World and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Our Elusive Heron……..

  1. Audie Jean says:

    Yes, they are truly delightful to watch. It thrills me to see what great fishers they are.
    A couple of weeks ago, I actually caught one (on pixels) with the fish in its mouth.

  2. Audie Jean says:

    Do you think this young man is after all those cute little leopard frogs we see in August? They are certainly much bigger and tastier now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

