Still Learning — Gut Feelings

p1430180

It has been awhile since I shared my diet revelations here on Sunflower Girls. So here goes.

This adjustment does not demonstrate any drastic changes to what I’ve previously preached, but I feel it does give me an additional level of control over my health. As always, though, I insist that you do your own research and come to your own conclusions about what’s right and smart for you. My eating choices are still focused on two meals a day with every dish containing a large quantity of quality fat, a good amount of protein, and a smaller portion of carbohydrates. 

What I’ve recently learned about,  and consequently added to my unconventional ways, are resistant starches and fermented vegetables.

In practical terms, this means that I regularly eat naturally fermented (i.e. without wine or vinegar) sauerkraut, and make and drink my own beet kvass. See two recipes below or do your own google search to find other sources. You might also look for other fermented food recipes whose taste you prefer.

How do I make beet kvass?

Tell me more.

To maximize my gut health even more, I make sure I also get healthy amounts of resistant starch in the natural form by eating cooked cold rice or potatoes, or green bananas.

Check out this explanation here: What is resistant starch?

I cannot see what’s going on inside, but I do imagine that my gut is chock-a-block full of healthy soldiers fighting off all kinds of cancers and other nasty diseases that might try to wage war on my body and my mind. Who knows?

Is there a difference? Can I feel it? I don’t know, but my weight and my energy level have been constant for 6 years; and without drugs, I successfully manage to resist the cold and flu that is going around. So something must be working. 😉

Let me know what you think of this.

About Audie Jean

I love volunteering for Thrift Shops for Nova West Island. I also spend a lot of time taking photos, making greeting cards, exploring on the computer, and doing all kinds of other things that stimulate learning. It is very important for me that I LEARN or DO something every day. I have a special fondness for milking cows, reading poetry, cutting grass, walking in the woods, chatting with my grandchildren, and much, much more. Life is indeed fun. Reach me at: ajdrakie@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Choices, Diet, Food, Food Related, Reflections & Personal Perspectives and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Still Learning — Gut Feelings

  1. DohNa says:

    Having been passed this information a few years ago, I have been following the same routine. I am quick to realize when I have ingested something that is not in my normal diet, my digestive system let’s me know. I too have been free from colds and flu and maintain a steady weight without medication. Thanks for re-posting!

Leave a Reply

