Dealing with aging…..or revelling in it!

As I get older, I realize that this is a natural progression, from infant to youth, to adult, to elderly.  There is nothing I can do to stop the cycle…well there is, but the alternative is not attractive. I prefer to be on this side of the grass!

I have accepted the “me” that I see looking back from the mirror, wrinkles and all, and have come to like the ‘laugh lines’ that surround my mouth and eyes.

I have accepted the numerous skin tags that seem to be sprouting from nowhere on my neck and shoulders, and the white spots appearing on my legs that even a summer tan cannot hide.

I have accepted my thinning hair and failing eyesight, as well as the nightly trips to the bathroom. Also the osteoarthritis that has taken toll on my thumbs and wrists, though painful at times, is more of an annoyance than something that makes my life miserable.

I do however refuse to let my memory be affected by the unhealthy foods encouraged by the nutritionists of today.  The low fat trend is disturbing and can only end in disaster as younger and younger people succumb to type 2 diabetes, dementia and Alzheimer’s.  I have watched my mother as her memory has slowly deteriorated to the point where she can’t remember what she did 15 minutes before.  She is in her 91st year and is taking no prescription drugs. She uses a walker only to steady her if necessary. She has had a long life, raised 8 children and survived 2 partners, yet it is necessary for her to reside in a long term care facility. She needs help morning and night with dressing toileting, as well as weekly baths and help getting down to meals. When asked, she informs me that she does this on her own and has never had anyone help her. She is encouraged to take part in activities though afterwards she has no idea what she was involved in.

I have been taking coconut oil for 4 years now on a daily basis and have increased my fat intake and reduced carbs dramatically in the last year or so. I have ‘cured’ some minor bowel issues as well as fought off colds and flus by changing my diet and improving my immune system. I have never had a flu shot and intend to continue to refuse it. I believe we have to take charge of our own bodies, the internet is at our fingertips so lets make use of it!

We are what we eat!

About DohNa

I enjoy curling up with a good book, I write poetry from the heart, I am passionate about gardening, I am an avid golfer and I love riding on the back of my husband's Harley-Davidson.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Reflections & Personal Perspectives, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dealing with aging…..or revelling in it!

  1. novasadb says:

    I like this, Doh! Thanks for your great post.

  2. prichie says:

    The proof is in the pudding for sure. Although I have slipped here and there by eating too many sugars and too many carbs in the past 4 years I, too, believe that our bodies are what we put into them. From having headaches and upset stomach for too many years, I have gone to almost zero on both. Only when I eat something my body isn’t used to, do I feel the admonishment. We have learned a valuable lesson, you, our sisters and I! Great post DohNa

Leave a Reply

