I’m Busy — Enriching My Life

I’m retired and very busy. I’m also very happy.

Yes, happy, because I’m busy doing things that I have chosen to do. They are important and they enrich my life.

In my busy-ness, I meet extraordinary people, many because of my decision to volunteer for Thrift Shops for Nova West Island, http://www.novawi.org/en/ One of my tasks with my co-workers is to help sort the variety of donated items that come into our space, and then prepare and price them so they can then be put out into the store for you to buy them at fabulous prices. My job is interesting; it’s social; it’s rewarding. And it will never be finished!

I meet customers who generously donate and buy, and I meet dedicated volunteers who give their time freely to keep the organization successful. People who also have interesting lives outside of Nova. People like Liz, Allison, Marion, Jean, Fiona, Maureen, Edith, Susan, Judy, Yvonne, Janet, Quentin, Tom and Warren. And the list goes on! We are well over 200 volunteers to date in our five thrift shops, and we all work together in this cause of providing health care services for the community. We are all very busy.

You can read more about these people and their contributions on our Facebook page for the Thrift Shops for Nova West Island, where you’ll see news and photos and interaction. How wonderful it is to witness the public’s engagement with our wonderful cause!

Like the real world, the world of cyberspace can be intricately interconnected, so the Facebook Page is also connected to our blog:  http://novasadb.wordpress.com/ and to Twitter: https://twitter.com/SadbNova and to LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=335808703&trk=nav_responsive_tab_profile.

Technology, like the people I work with, is truly amazing. And there are too few hours in a day for all there is to do! So many people to meet and interact with, so many skills to learn, so much to play with and enjoy!

One day at a time.

About Audie Jean

I love volunteering for Thrift Shops for Nova West Island. I also spend a lot of time taking photos, making greeting cards, exploring on the computer, and doing all kinds of other things that stimulate learning. It is very important for me that I LEARN or DO something every day. I have a special fondness for milking cows, reading poetry, cutting grass, walking in the woods, chatting with my grandchildren, and much, much more. Life is indeed fun. Reach me at: ajdrakie@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Business, Feelings, Reflections & Personal Perspectives, Health Care, Interactions, Life, Nova, Recycling, Thrift Shops, Volunteering and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m Busy — Enriching My Life

  1. DohNa says:

    Thrift stores are my most favourite shopping/browsing/searching places. I never know what I’m looking for nor what I may come home with but the search is enjoyable and rewarding for sure.

Leave a Reply

