Finding Common Ground

We are naturally drawn to certain people, activities, sights and sounds for reasons we don’t always understand. All we really know at the time is that we like sharing with this person or that place. And resistance is futile.

Whether it is nourishing some needy part of our souls or simply providing a momentary fun distraction matters little: the wise woman accepts it and enjoys.

A few days ago I had such an opportunity when I sat and visited with a volunteer in a Thrift Shop for Nova. She is a very spry, animated, interesting and intelligent 82-year old with an uncommon name. Like me, she is a Lovely Leo Lady. I was drawn to her and stayed and chatted with her for half an hour. I loved every minute. And I look forward to spending time with her again.

So with almost 20 years difference in our ages, what did the two Leos talk about? Well, among other things — believe it or not — we spent most of our time discussing how she can set up a new gmail address and open a Facebook account.

About Audie Jean

I love volunteering for Thrift Shops for Nova West Island. I also spend a lot of time taking photos, making greeting cards, exploring on the computer, and doing all kinds of other things that stimulate learning. It is very important for me that I LEARN or DO something every day. I have a special fondness for milking cows, reading poetry, cutting grass, walking in the woods, chatting with my grandchildren, and much, much more. Life is indeed fun. Reach me at: ajdrakie@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Feelings, Reflections & Personal Perspectives, Interactions and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finding Common Ground

  1. DohNa says:

    A few years back, while a superintendant of an apartment building, housing predominantly seniors, I also made such a connection. My ‘friend’ Mabel was in her 100th year and still as sharp as a tack! Her mobility was seriously impaired, making it hard for her to venture out of her apartment. Her eye sight was failing as well. I would spend a couple of hours each week with her solving the New York Times crossword puzzles from the KW Record. I would read her the clues and she would invariably come up with the answers. She passed away at the age of 103 after being moved to an old age home. I was in awe of this lady and will always remember the chuckles we had.

  2. Audie Jean says:

    Yes, I remember you talking about her. What a lovely long life she had. I’m sure she really appreciated your friendship and caring.
    In the big picture, these moments are fleeting and to be treasured — perhaps even more so because they are fleeting.
    Thanks DohNa for reminding me.

Leave a Reply

