Winter Snow, Wiarton Willie, Sandy beaches, Retirement and Spring

Here it is almost the middle of February. If we put any faith in the predicting rodents from February 2nd, spring is just around the corner. I find this encouraging and it gives me hope that we can survive the remaining cold, snow and wind of this Northern Canadian climate. There have been days of searching the internet for those warm tropical locations, while dreaming of walking those white sand beaches in 31 degree weather. I am usually brought back to earth by the sound of our local snow plow clearing the street in front of the house leaving the mess you see below.

snowfall Feb 2013 004 snowfall Feb 2013 003

Unfortunately, we have cement steps that go from the street up to the front of our house. We like to keep them clear of snow and ice for the postman. The aforementioned snowplow driver however deems it his responsibility to push the snow up as high as he can; to at least the fourth step from the bottom. If you have ever shovelled the debris from these machines you know how heavy this stuff is. GerBee uses our snow blower to clear the driveway but the steps have to be done by hand. This is back-breaking work at the best of times but when it is 2, 3, 4 days in a row it is also pretty discouraging.

snowfall Feb 2013 012 snowfall Feb 2013 013

Another annoying thing about winter is that the white stuff sticks to the solar panels on our roof. It is not possible to get any ‘rays’ when there is 4 inches of snow up there. We have a roof rake that makes it possible to at least clear the roof edge which allows the snow to eventually slide to the ground.

snowfall Feb 2013 009 snowfall Feb 2013 007

It is a bonus to be retired though. This ensures that we don’t have to drive in a storm getting to or from our jobs. We also have the option of shovelling/snow blowing when we want to, not when we have to.  It is a bonus too that my camera loves those sunny, bright days providing lots of opportunities for photos like the one below.

snowfall Feb 2013 011

I have to admit, the only time I really want to get away from winter is when I hear from friends or family who have done, or are planning to do just that. Within two months we will be spending time opening our trailer, filling our hot tub and cleaning our golf clubs. I’ve made it this far, I think I can wait. Meanwhile, I hear my comfy chair and my knitting calling me!

About DohNa

I enjoy curling up with a good book, I write poetry from the heart, I am passionate about gardening, I am an avid golfer and I love riding on the back of my husband's Harley-Davidson.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Reflections & Personal Perspectives, Mother Nature. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winter Snow, Wiarton Willie, Sandy beaches, Retirement and Spring

  1. Audie Jean says:

    Don’t worry — spring is in the air. I can hear her.

  2. prichie says:

    such pretty wintry pictures though……………….I’m with you DohNa and with the middle of February behind us now, spring is within attainable reach!

Leave a Reply

