All That’s Old is New Again

As we walked through the most recent acquisition to our small town, our Flea Market, I marvelled at the abundance of items that I remember from my childhood. Of course there were the usual vendors selling novels, china, knick knacks, and antique furniture. The ones that most caught my eye were the ones with miscellaneous household items.   The rubber tire ash tray like the one that Dad used to have, the cream cans that were taken to the creamery, the meat grinder that was used to make sausage, the 5 gallon crocks that held pickles, and the list goes on. It is indeed a walk down memory lane and in every aisle I notice another item that reminds me of times gone by.

As we were on our way out the door, I noticed a woman sitting at a table with a small oval carpet in front of her. I stopped to check out the circular twists of fabric that constructed the carpet.  I was awestruck.  She was using a tool that most of us girls had used as chlldren.  We used an empty wooden spool and  got Dad to hammer 4 nails into the top.  We would then wrap yarn around the nails and lift up and over to form each stitch resulting in a tubular piece of material that would eventually emerge from the bottom of the spool.  Remember this girls?  This woman had an enlarged piece of wood with a larger hole in the centre and was doing the same thing with strips of cotton bed sheets. She showed me how she stitched them together into oval throw rugs.   I was so impressed that I bought one of her ‘kits” for $12 and have started my own oval carpet.It fills my time as I watch tv or just sit and listen to my spouse serenade me on his guitar.  I can’t wait to see the finished result and what better way to recycle those bedsheets that have long ago passed their usefulness.

About DohNa

I enjoy curling up with a good book, I write poetry from the heart, I am passionate about gardening, I am an avid golfer and I love riding on the back of my husband's Harley-Davidson.
This entry was posted in Recycling, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All That’s Old is New Again

  1. Audie Jean says:

    Ooooh, nice memories, DohNa! I want to see this creation when you finish. I don’t even know if I remember how to do this kind of knitting. You will have to post instructions. 🙂

  2. prichie says:

    Oh my, many minutes and hours I spent with my little red knitting machine. I loved making the extra long ‘string’ but never ever seemed to get to rolling it into a mat. I want one!! Have fun~!

Leave a Reply

