Tingling Connections

Well, it has been awhile! And, indeed, it has been quite a busy “while” for me.

When my school called at the end of October to ask me to fill in for 8 weeks, my first reaction was, “No way, I can’t do it, I am too busy, I have nothing to wear, I can’t handle the traffic!” I couldn’t imagine returning to what I had done for 22 years. I was retired.

However, after a day’s reflection, I decided, with a mixture of trepidation and excitement,  to test my resilience and go for it. Only the traffic on my drive home gave me grief. Other than that, it was a great experience which allowed me to both re-connect with my former colleagues, and to also make new connections with students I had not known. I felt appreciated and valued, and was totally happy with the experience. The bonus was the pay cheques I thought were history.

When the contract finished, my life returned to its post-retirement busy-ness. And with Christmas, and family, and friends, and catching up on daily distractions that had been waiting for me, there was no shortage of activities to occupy my time.

There were, however, even more connections to be made–more precious ones that go far beyond the norm. On January 14th, my newest grandchild was born. My son and his lovely wife became the proud parents of a lovely and healthy baby boy. What a joy!

The true impact of this connection, though, came in the form of a totally unexpected sensation. While my daughter-in-law nursed her infant in the hospital, and he really latched onto his mother’s breast, all the mothers in the room became fully aware of real Tingling Connections. All three of us were reminded physically of our own nursing experiences with our own babies. It was amazing, and undeniable, and real. We were definitely all connected!

The only woman in the room who missed out on this wonderful Tingling Connection will, unfortunately, have to wait her turn. She has had no children yet, and will have to be content, for now, with the Auntie Connection.

 

 

About Audie Jean

I love volunteering for Thrift Shops for Nova West Island. I also spend a lot of time taking photos, making greeting cards, exploring on the computer, and doing all kinds of other things that stimulate learning. It is very important for me that I LEARN or DO something every day. I have a special fondness for milking cows, reading poetry, cutting grass, walking in the woods, chatting with my grandchildren, and much, much more. Life is indeed fun. Reach me at: ajdrakie@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Mother Nature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tingling Connections

  1. DohNa says:

    This post gave me a tingling sensation, not where you would expect though; the hair on my arms stood up! I did not have the opportunity to breast feed either of my girls. At that time I was a working Mom and had to return to the workplace a mere 6 weeks after delivery. I missed out on something special I know but have been able to “re-live” the experience while watching my daughters breast feed their babies.

Leave a Reply

