Re-Uniting

Aw yes, reunions! What power they have to feed the soul and the ego.

Recently I attended an open house at my former workplace after being retired and away from the school for over a year and a half.  What joy I felt to be greeted so warmly by my former colleagues and students. They gave me the feeling that they had truly missed my presence.  It was wonderful to feel so loved and appreciated.

Then again, just yesterday, I had a similar experience when I went back to the gym where my volleyball league plays.  I hadn’t seen these women since the final playoff games in April, and then had missed the return for the new season in September due to  a 6-week recovery from an injury.

What a terrific reception upon my return. It was heart-warming to be reunited with my friends, the courts, the nets, the volleyballs and the cheers of encouragement or victory.  “Let’s play!” Even losing games and taking down the net stirred the familiar joys of being there again. Of belonging, of sharing, of being missed, and then of being welcomed back with smiles and hugs.

Are these the nostalgic meanderings of a senior? Perhaps.  🙂

About Audie Jean

I love volunteering for Thrift Shops for Nova West Island. I also spend a lot of time taking photos, making greeting cards, exploring on the computer, and doing all kinds of other things that stimulate learning. It is very important for me that I LEARN or DO something every day. I have a special fondness for milking cows, reading poetry, cutting grass, walking in the woods, chatting with my grandchildren, and much, much more. Life is indeed fun. Reach me at: ajdrakie@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Feelings, Reflections & Personal Perspectives, Fun Related and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Re-Uniting

  1. September says:

    Heh heh! Perhaps! but without these meanderings………you are still a senior so why not enjoy them? 🙂

    • DohNa says:

      I get the same welcome when I am asked back to work for a few days. Even though basically retired, I still enjoy the comradarie of my former work mates at the office. I think it reinforces our ‘worth’ to ourselves when others show their appreciation? Could this be it?

Leave a Reply

