Good Things DO Come to Those Who Wait

I’ve always considered myself a ‘bit’ of a green thumb, understanding full well that it comes naturally from our mother. Through all of my growing years Mom had indoor plants thriving on window sills, in sunny corners and tables of every house we lived in. Cacti and geranium and spider plants were most plentiful, always having babies and outgrowing their pots. She would transplant them diligently each and every time.

As each of us girls moved out of the family home to set up our own life, we would take with us a ‘starter’ cactus to carry on the tradition. I’m sure there are still some of those off-spring in my sisters’ living-rooms.

I have a smaller house now in comparison to what I’ve had over the years, and as I moved, my own house plants would suffer and die because the sunlight wasn’t always available to their location. My thumb apparently isn’t as green these days.

However, I had a Christmas cactus given to me by my mother-in-law about six years ago. Often, I’ve listened to others talk about the beautiful flowers their cacti would produce on a yearly basis. Mine, sadly, bloomed one year, one flower and that was a beautiful moment……..a debut, with no repeat performance.

Last weekend, while dusting the area where my cactus sits in the window, I noticed at the back of the plant facing the window was a bright spent bloom. It almost brought tears to my eyes that I had missed this spectacular display! I picked up the pot to show WilleR and it was then I realized that all I ever really needed was more patience. For there on the tips of thirteen (!) branches are pretty little buds ready to open up to me. Bless their little hearts!

I now patiently wait for the opening of “Christmas Cactus, the Sequel” and will photograph the moment with pride.

About prichie

I'm married and even though it took me 3 times to find the love of my whole life, I truly value the idea of marriage. With only a few, very few, years left before retirement, I am doing a lot of dreaming and planning about what those years will bring. I'm a happy, confident person who sometimes tests the norm in my daily fashion. I'm pleased with where I am in life and plan on sticking around for many many years!
This entry was posted in Our Natural World. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Good Things DO Come to Those Who Wait

  1. DohNa says:

    I too have Christmas cacti that bloom sporatically, when and if they want. It is indeed lovely to see the starting bud of a brilliant bloom no matter what time of year it is! Thanks prichie for the reminder to be patient. I will put this to use while I await your next photo;-)

Leave a Reply

