What was I Thinking!

Whew!  I caught myself just in the nick of time!

Believe it or not, I actually and seriously considered taking on a college teaching job, starting mid January, and running until mid May.  It would have been 3 hours per week for a total of 15 weeks.  And maybe bring me about $3,000.00 gross.   Maybe.

What made me consider this insanity?  That’s an interesting question that can perhaps best be answered by the following: I was flattered to be asked; I was tempted by my love of teaching; I was intrigued by the opportunity to get into the college level with all its perks;  I imagined the fun I would have with these older students; I liked the idea of the challenge of preparing and delivering a wonderful program that no one had ever been able to offer before.  In short, my ego got involved, and drew me into a temporary state of madness.

Thankfully, I came to my senses during the night, and woke up resolved to inform my former principal that I was much too comfortable at home.  Thanks, but no thanks.

Whew!  That was a close call!

About Audie Jean

I love volunteering for Thrift Shops for Nova West Island. I also spend a lot of time taking photos, making greeting cards, exploring on the computer, and doing all kinds of other things that stimulate learning. It is very important for me that I LEARN or DO something every day. I have a special fondness for milking cows, reading poetry, cutting grass, walking in the woods, chatting with my grandchildren, and much, much more. Life is indeed fun. Reach me at: ajdrakie@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Feelings, Reflections & Personal Perspectives and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What was I Thinking!

  1. September says:

    You are too funny! Saved by the proverbial bell!

  2. PatsyRich says:

    You are too funny! Saved by the proverbial bell!

  3. DohNa says:

    I know exactly what you mean….my ego has pulled me back to the office a few times in the past few weeks;-(

  4. Audie Jean says:

    In your boots, I would probably do the same thing! What you have is almost a gift. You work hard, get paid and then go home until the next time you decide to go in. Your “over-retired-time” requires no detailed course outlines; no planning; no discipline; no assignments to give and correct; no exams to prepare, print and correct; no marks to enter….
    In my books, you are a smart woman. 🙂

  5. Bridgette says:

    🙂 Maybe, at the risk of sounding …. well, young … I’d want to go back too. Not that I teach, but … I’ve never felt that teaching was a ‘job’, more like a choice. One that inhabits your life and attitude. You likely continue to Teach even though you aren’t being paid to do so. 🙂
    Maybe this wasn’t a big stretch …
    Just my 2 cents

    • Audie Jean says:

      You’ve got that right, Miss 2 Cents: teaching was always a part of ME more than it was a job. In fact, I have been teaching since I was 6 when I used to boss around the sibs, and make them sit and do school work and listen to me. Fortunately, over the years I learned a lot about how to inspire my students. And yes, I miss the magic that occurs when the connections are made. Awwww.

  6. DohNa says:

    What do you mean ‘used to make us listen’? You still do, only it’s because of the knowledge you have to share…..oh wise one!

Leave a Reply

