Home(made) for Christmas

This year since Ger-Bie’s family pooh-poohed the idea of ‘no’ gifts, we said “Ok, we’ll make them!”  A good portion of the past month has been spent in the basement sewing, sanding, staining, trimming etc. I was amazed as well as quite proud of what we accomplished. The biggest problem was to come up with an idea of what to make for each individual.  I have photos of what I came up with and the finished projects.

  I crocheted 4 dishcloths out of cotton yarn and made colour co-ordinated oven mitts to go with them. Above you will see the rust colour and the fabric swatches used to create them.   Below you will see dark brown oven mitts and the same colour dishcloths.I wasn’t sure what to make for the adult males in the family.  I decided on a knit scarf out of white cotton yarn. I used a package of fabric dye to get the desired steel grey colour.  I added the treble clef to personalize this for a music teacher. We have a Toronto Maple Leaf fan in the family so decided to take that cue and create something special for aches and pains.  These are heating pads filled with barley which can be thrown in either the freezer or the microwave. They have removable, washable covers which are constructed from soft flannel.

before construction

after construction

I had one adult male remaining and decided on a barbecue apron and mitt made of heavy canvas. The internet was a help with pictures etc. for all of the above projects.

 While I was sitting in front of my sewing machine Ger-Bie was refinishing an old window frame to make a mirrored wall hanging.  It was a lot of work with wood filler, sanding, staining etc. After many hours he achieved the look he wanted.  I think it looks wonderful!  We had so much fun and got so much satisfaction doing this that it will now be one of our yearly traditions.

About DohNa

I enjoy curling up with a good book, I write poetry from the heart, I am passionate about gardening, I am an avid golfer and I love riding on the back of my husband's Harley-Davidson.
This entry was posted in Crafts & Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Home(made) for Christmas

  1. Audie Jean says:

    Wow! These are great — you did a fabulous job! Congrats.

  2. Bridgette says:

    Lovely gifts! I really love the canvas apron and mitts! I’m a bit inspired by that one … 🙂

Leave a Reply

