A Non-Typical Breakfast … But it Works Too

This morning, finding my fridge bare of eggs, I had to improvise to get the mostly-fat, moderate-protein, and smattering of carbs for my breakfast/brunch.

Here’s what I did: I started with two slices of cooked & frozen pork belly.  Then I added a nice chunky slice of high-fat old cheddar cheese and several tender pieces of herring fillets in wine-marinade (deee-licious); finally on the  side, I decorated the plate with a small purple tomato from the garden and some pickings of fresh raw purslane.  As usual, I added a  sprinkle of salt and pepper too.

This with my second cup of coffee and I was all set for a day of work … or play.

Mmmmm, mmmmm, good!

Who says there is no variety in  paleo?

About Audie Jean

I love volunteering for Thrift Shops for Nova West Island. I also spend a lot of time taking photos, making greeting cards, exploring on the computer, and doing all kinds of other things that stimulate learning. It is very important for me that I LEARN or DO something every day. I have a special fondness for milking cows, reading poetry, cutting grass, walking in the woods, chatting with my grandchildren, and much, much more. Life is indeed fun. Reach me at: ajdrakie@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Food Related and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Non-Typical Breakfast … But it Works Too

  1. DohNa says:

    It does indeed sound delish!

  2. gchristie says:

    Sometimes I am just not ready to be cooking eggs, so I have my already cooked side pork in the fridge and I grab a slice or 2 and add a bit of cheddar cheese and I am good to go. That will get me through until a bit of high fat yogurt mid afternoon.
    Indeed your breakfast makes my mouth water, and very inventive.

    • Audie Jean says:

      My pork belly is always frozen, and I love to eat it that way–directly from the freezer. Who knows why.

      • DohNa says:

        So you cook a bunch at a time and then freeze it? Hmmmm

      • Audie Jean says:

        I cook the whole package about once every week or two and then put it in the freezer in a ziplock bag. It takes awhile to do because I cook it on my grill and that can only take so many slices at a time. Sometimes I cut the slices in 3 or 4 pieces first.
        The grill is the least messy method I’ve found after trying both the frying pan and a cookie sheet in the oven, and I can collect the oil much easier too. I drain it into a container and then use it for cooking, or in the winter for the bird feeders.
        It is so convenient to have the pork belly ready whenever I want it, either for breakfast or for a quick snack, and I have the oil spatters less often than if I cook it every day.

  3. prichie says:

    I have yet to get into buying the side pork, I love it, but have to do more searching for it. My grocery store does not stock it. 😦 Other than that, your breakfast sounds yummy! Gotta love the cheddar on anything!

Leave a Reply

