One-Day Wonders

Isn’t it amazing how  Mother Nature feels it is worth her while to design gorgeous flowers that bloom for one day only.  She must feel it is worth it, but how can that be?  Who, besides humans, are benefitting from these lovely creations?  What bee, or moth, or ant, or fly, or spider could possibly take advantage of this beauty in such a short time?

In only two days, I witnessed two samples of  these works of art.  One presented herself Friday morning on my cactus plant which I had just brought inside the day before.

Here she is beneath Ollie, the olive tree, and beside Daddy’s African violet.

I must be doing something right because she bloomed  once already this summer–in July.  Here you can see how she appeared at the end of a long stem, showing herself off to the world outdoors.

And here you can see two shots of her performance last summer exactly a year ago today.So, dear sisters, those of you who received some babies from me last summer, don’t despair.  I’m sure your day will come when you too will be treated to this short-lived glory.

The other blossoms I was treated with were moonflowers which opened last evening in my neighbour’s garden across the street.  I will be planting some of these next summer!

About Audie Jean

I love volunteering for Thrift Shops for Nova West Island. I also spend a lot of time taking photos, making greeting cards, exploring on the computer, and doing all kinds of other things that stimulate learning. It is very important for me that I LEARN or DO something every day. I have a special fondness for milking cows, reading poetry, cutting grass, walking in the woods, chatting with my grandchildren, and much, much more. Life is indeed fun. Reach me at: ajdrakie@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Our Natural World and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One-Day Wonders

  1. DohNa says:

    The baby cactus that you gave me is doing well and hoping to follow in her mama’s footsteps by presenting me with perfect blooms in the years to come.

  2. prichie says:

    Methinks you have Mom’s green thumb Audie Jean. 🙂

Leave a Reply

