My Place or Yours

Today I spent some time in the beautiful sunshine in my front yard.  It had promised to be a rainy cool day and I was thrilled to see how wrong the weatherman was.

My front yard has been overgrown since I moved into our paradise, and today was the day that I had to tackle it.  What a great feeling working in the fertile loamy soil.  I didn’t realize how much I had missed the smell of the earth and the sense of accomplishment at seeing the freshly turned ‘dirt’.

I call it ‘goatsfoot’, but I know there is another name for it.  It is a very fast growing plant and in its place I could like it, but not in my front garden.

My little friend here thinks differently.  I call him Mowgli and he watched me while I dug and cleared and moved the wall stones around.  He stayed at a distance for a while and finally turned his back to me and chose to hide for a bit.

At the end of the day he came out and surveyed ‘His Place.’

So is it My Place or His Place?  I promise to replace the plants with some grass.

GChristie

This entry was posted in Fun Related, Our Natural World and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Place or Yours

  1. Audie Jean says:

    🙂 Mowgli may hold you to your promise.

  2. DohNa says:

    The farmer, soil turner, planter, and harvester instincts that we have all expressed, come from our Dad. The dirt under our fingernails and the mud caked to the bottom of our shoes are reminders of our heritage as farmer’s daughters! I for one, revel in it!

Leave a Reply

