Foraging in the Backyard

Well, here we are again with another Foraging Freebie.  And this time you don’t even have to walk to your favourite forest.  You can find this glorious edible weed, packed high in omega 3, right in your own backyard.

When I first discovered it in the cracks of my patio stones, I was simply attracted to it because I liked the looks.  Soon afterwards, though, I realized that it was the weed I had been trying to find for over a year: it was purslane.

Many gardeners dream of the day when they can eliminate purslane from their well-manicured yards.  But not me.  No, I admire it; and take photos of it; and spread the seeds around my herbs, and tomato and bean plants; and even transplant some plants into pots so that, hopefully, I’ll have some to munch on in the winter.

In the close-up below you can see the small black cone-shaped seed pod in the middle of a cluster of unripe seed pods.And here in the  shots below, you can see how tiny the seeds are–they remind me of poppy seeds.

You can see that the cones above have lost their caps.

After picking the handful above to take photos for this post, I simply gobbled up the works.  Yes, raw, seeds and all.  A neat little snack right from my garden.

Or, if you prefer, throw them in the buttery fry pan for 30-40 seconds after you have removed your eggs.  Quite lovely.

For more information on the reasons for eating purslane, check out this link:

http://www.healwithfood.org/health-benefits/purslane-nutritional-value.php


About Audie Jean

I love volunteering for Thrift Shops for Nova West Island. I also spend a lot of time taking photos, making greeting cards, exploring on the computer, and doing all kinds of other things that stimulate learning. It is very important for me that I LEARN or DO something every day. I have a special fondness for milking cows, reading poetry, cutting grass, walking in the woods, chatting with my grandchildren, and much, much more. Life is indeed fun. Reach me at: ajdrakie@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Food Related and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Foraging in the Backyard

  1. DohNa says:

    I only wish my purslane looked half as healthy as what is pictured here, Even what I have put in pots isn’t looking that great,

  2. Audie Jean says:

    Mine in pots is also a bit pathetic. 😦 And these photos were taken a week ago. It doesn’t look quite as lush today. Yours will get there too.

    • prichie says:

      same for mine, right now it’s not the bright green it was 2 weeks ago. My potted one is living, but not as appetizing looking! 🙂

  3. Audie Jean says:

    Update to all interested:
    Purslane seems to be one of those plants that lasts one season regardless of how we coax it inside.
    Mine also died/went dormant in the pots, but after being wintered over, it grew again. (Whether from the same plants or from the seeds, I know not.) 🙂 But the garden is full again.

Leave a Reply

