Sharing time with Mom……priceless!

Today I had the pleasure of spending most of the day with my Mom. It’s hard to explain the absolute joy I feel when I hear her laugh, when I see the way her face lights up when she smiles, when she gives me that big bear hug when I am heading out the door.

At times she repeats herself, but generally laughs out loud when realizing it, encouraging me to do the same. She is a master at manipulating a partially finished 1000 piece jigsaw puzzle, situated on a huge piece of cardboard, through a 34 inch bedroom door without losing a single piece! When I offered to help she just ‘phew phewed’ me away. These puzzles are her passion and generally she can have one mastered in 2 to 3 weeks.

There are some little quirks that we chuckle at. She is compelled to gather the jam and peanut butter packets from  her breakfast table at the seniors residence.  These  treasures are  then offered to her children and grandchildren when we visit.

This morning as I made my way down the hallway to her apartment, I could hear the sweet sound of organ music.  Her door was ajar and two of her neighbours were passing in front of me. I was filled with pride when I heard them say “Don’t you just love it when she plays?” I entered with a “Hi Mom” and she greeted me with a huge grin saying “I was just putting in time”.

We met up with my sister at an outdoor farmers market and wandered around for close to 3 hours without a word of complaint. She is a matriarch supreme in that her energy level sometimes pushes mine to the extreme.  I forgot to mention that Mom is 85!

When we arrived back at her apartment, she entertained me by reading aloud some of the pages of her diary from over a year ago. She was comfortable reading it to me though it was from a very traumatic time in her life. We even had a few laughs, as she realized how much her situation has changed for the better.

As I walked down the hall, she stood waving with one hand while throwing kisses with the other all the time thanking me for the wonderful day we had. I only hope she knows that the day was even more wonderful for me!

About DohNa

I enjoy curling up with a good book, I write poetry from the heart, I am passionate about gardening, I am an avid golfer and I love riding on the back of my husband's Harley-Davidson.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Reflections & Personal Perspectives and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sharing time with Mom……priceless!

  1. Audie Jean says:

    Oh, DohNa, that was lovely! Thank you for sharing with us a part of your day with Mom.

  2. prichie says:

    Sounds like a fantastic day you two had! Did your sister join you too?

  3. cthylou says:

    DohNa, what a lovely way of expressing your day–it brought tears to my eyes when you mentioned the part of the ladies saying to you about hearing Mom play. It is really amazing to listen to Mom when I am driving her, like when I took her up to GChristie’s for the day. She enjoyed the adventure and how often did she thank me for the wonderful day and time. GChristie was showing me her paradise and Mom was a little tired of walking so she spent time with JayDee up on the deck. I know what you mean about her smile and to see her face light up is truly amazing. And she is so whitty. I just step back and think to myself, “I can only hope and pray I am as spry when I am 85.” She is such a joy.

Leave a Reply

