Perennial Divison

Five years ago when I decided to turn the sand box, that was my backyard, into something that actually resembled a flower garden, I had no qualms about taking free handouts from family and friends.  These donations came in all shapes, sizes and colours and would mysteriously appear on my front porch during my work day encased in cardboard boxes, plastic bags or unwanted pots.

Just the beginning.

Usually, there were no planting instructions attached and sometimes not even the name of the plant that I was given!  All were welcomed with open arms…or should I say open gardening gloves.  I spent many an evening on my knees at dusk, trowel in hand searching the perfect spot for a particular perennial.  There was everything from the tall Gladioli to the low growing Dead Nettle. I was given Daylilies, Lady’s Mantle, hardy Geraniums as well as several varieties of Hostas.

As spring approached so did my anticipation. I wasn’t disappointed. My gardens are my pride and joy and a source of unending pleasure now that I am retired and have the time to give them the attention that they deserve. I am now at the stage where I am digging and dividing those same plants to pass on to someone else who is embarking on their own journey towards what they perceive as their perfect garden. This afternoon I placed 5 large bunches of gladioli bulbs at the end of my driveway with a ‘FREE’ sign and within ten minutes they had disappeared. Truly rewarding!

About DohNa

I enjoy curling up with a good book, I write poetry from the heart, I am passionate about gardening, I am an avid golfer and I love riding on the back of my husband's Harley-Davidson.
This entry was posted in Fun Related. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Perennial Divison

  1. Audie Jean says:

    🙂
    I wish I had been there to get those bulbs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

