Home Dried Tea Leaves

I have been brewing some delicious teas with herbs from my garden. They are wonderfully calming before bed or while relaxing with a good book.  They cost me nothing but my time to prune off the leaves and dry.  I use mint and the lemon sage makes a nice one as well.

I wipe the leaves to free them from dirt or small insects. Originally I tried rinsing but found that then I had to be sure there were no water droplets present before putting them into the microwave. After wiping I spread one layer of leaves (try not to have too much of the
stem present because they snap, crackle and pop when zapped) on a paper towel and place it in the microwave. I set the timer for 30 seconds and then check to be sure they don’t scorch.  Generally this is enough time but depending on the power of your microwave you may have to increase or decrease the number of seconds. The leaves will start to curl when finished.  I leave them to cool and then put them in small jars.  I crush them as I need them, put them into a diffuser spoon and add hot water.  Enjoy!

About DohNa

I enjoy curling up with a good book, I write poetry from the heart, I am passionate about gardening, I am an avid golfer and I love riding on the back of my husband's Harley-Davidson.
This entry was posted in Food Related. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Home Dried Tea Leaves

  1. Your photo is lovely, DohNa. I have been wanting to do this too. My only reluctance is the microwave. I try to avoid using it, but I guess it surely speeds things up. I wonder how long it would take in the oven??

    • DohNa says:

      I checked on drying in the oven and it says 4 – 6 hours at 150 degrees. I am looking into getting a dehydrator…… paradise2me, have you used yours yet? I have checked kijiji but there are none in the area yet.

  2. paradise2me says:

    I bought a food dryer at a garage sale in the spring and have been waiting to use it. Maybe this is the perfect time. I just have to find some edible herbs on my property. Otherwise I need to buy some. Would lemon balm work do you think?

Leave a Reply

